National Testing Agency (NTA)

UGC NET, NEET, JEE Main, CMAT, GPAT Exams Dates Information Blog

CMAT 2020 Eligibility Criteria – Nationality, Educational Qualification, and Age Limit

The Common Management Admission Test (CMAT) is conducted for admission to management courses in the participating institutes. Till 2018, the exam was conducted by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). From the year 2019, the exam is being conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA). The 2019 exam was successfully conducted on 28th and 29th January 2019 and the result for the same was announced on 6th February 2019.

Candidates must note that with the change in the exam conducting authority, no changes are introduced in the eligibility criteria. Interested candidates must check the eligibility conditions before applying for the exam. Read on for complete CMAT 2020 eligibility conditions, reservation criteria, and more. The details provided are on the basis of the 2019 information bulletin. Updates (if any) will be made after the release of CMAT 2020 official notification.

CMAT 2020 Eligibility


Candidate must be an Indian citizen.


There is no age restriction for appearing in the CMAT exam.

Educational Qualification

Candidate must have completed/passed Bachelor’s degree in any discipline. The official notification does not mention any minimum qualifying marks.

Candidates in the final year of the bachelor’s degree program (10+2+3) can also apply for the CMAT exam provided that their final result is announced before the commencement of the academic year.

CMAT Reservations

Reservations are applicable as per the norms of the participating institutes.

For institutes run under the Central Government, reservation is provided as under:

Categories Percentage of Seats Reserved
Other Backward Classes 27%
Scheduled Caste 15%
Scheduled Tribe 7.5%
PwD (each category) 5%

Other Backward Classes-Non Creamy Layer (OBC-NCL) as per the Central list of OBC on National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) website –

Persons with Disabilities (PwD) include persons with not less than forty per cent (40%) of the specified disability. Categories of disabilities are:

  • Blindness and low vision
  • Deaf and hard of hearing
  • Locomotor disability including leprosy cured, cerebral palsy, acid attack victims, dwarfism, and muscular dystrophy
  • Intellectual disability, Autism, Specified learning disability and mental illness
  • Multiple disabilities from amongst persons under the above categories
  • Other ‘specified disabilities’ as per the Schedule of the RPwD Act 2016.

“In case of persons with benchmark disabilities in the category of blindness, locomotor disability (both arm affected-BA) and cerebral palsy, the facility of scribe/reader/lab assistant shall be given, if so desired by the person,” states the official notification.

Please note that no changes in the category will be entertained after the CMAT application process gets over.

Candidates can check the course-specific eligibility criteria from the official website of the institute they are interested in taking admission.

Updated: December 11, 2021 — 12:05 pm

1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. Sir I have completed NET December exam in 2018 in Hindi subject but I have can’t download net e certificate.
    So sir kindly request to you to please help me to download the net e certificate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * Protection Status © 2019 National Testing Agency (NTA Exams) | XML Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | About Us